Trail Canyon Falls

I have done this hike several times before the 2009 fire and I guess back then I would just not care too much about waterfalls because I did not remember passing it. I would take this trail to the Tom Lucas Camp, but, when I really got into waterfalls(I have seen a lot of them this past year), I wanted to come back and check this one out AND it was AMAZING! Though, it is prohibited to take this trail because of the 2009 fire damage, I did it anyway. The gate to the parking lot (Trail Canyon Road) is closed, so, I had to park about a 1/4 mile down the road (before you reach Trail Canyon Road) in a picnic sort of area with a bunch of trees. So, I walked back up the 1/4 mile  to the (Trail Canyon Road) and I went right through the (STOP – DO NOT ENTER SIGN). I got to the trail head and started to hike. Before 2009 this trail was well paved, but, now some parts of the trail are completely washed out and gone. I was able to make it to the waterfall because I knew which way the trail went, and though I had to hike over bushes and burnt down tree branches, I was able to see the trail again as it ascends on the left up a really nice canyon. The trail is still there on the canyon ascencion, but the weeds have pretty much grown over it, though, it is still visible as a trail. Take that all the way to the top of the canyon and then as you start veering to the left, you will see the waterfall at a distance. But to get right next to the waterfall, you have to descend down the side of the canyon on a pretty steep grade, it is manageable and doable, but, you just got to be very careful. Well, I finally got to the bottom, walked left up the creek a little bit and got to the waterfall. There was A LOT of water coming down and there is actually two waterfalls running parallel to each other about 5 feet apart. I went by myself and there was not a single soul on this trek, but, I got some great pictures. This waterfall by itself makes this hike worth it, this is one of the nicest waterfalls I have seen in this area. Just know that you will need to ascend back up on the canyon to get back to the trail, and if you are not an experienced hiker, it may be tough to climb back up. You can still see the waterfall from the trail and you can also get to the top part of the waterfall as well if you choose not to go down into the creek and get next to it. I give this waterfall 5 stars, but the trail is in pretty bad shape now(which is a shame), so, that is why I give the overall hike a 4. I did this hike on 10/29/2011.

View From Above Trail Canyon Falls.

The Trail Canyon Falls Trail does go to the Tom Lucas Camp, and, all the way to Condor Peak. The round trip to Tom Lucas Camp is about a 7 miles and about 1400 feet in elavation gain. If this trail is taken all the way up to Condor Peak, then the round trip would be about 16 miles, with an approximate elevation gain of 3800 feet. As I mentioned before, several sections of this trail are now gone and/or washed out, but as long as you keep following the stream and keep looking to your left, you will see the trail ascending the canyon that will take you to the waterfall. Also, there is poison oak, so you will have to watch out for that. As I mentioned, this trail is closed off to the public, so, please enter at your own risk, and if you do, wear long sleeves and long pants to avoid scratches and to not come into direct contact with poison oak. You can also wait until this trail re-opens, but, it does not look like that will happen any time soon, and, it is a shame as I said before because this is one of the nicest waterfalls in the area.

Trail Canyon Falls.

Trail Canyon Falls Statistics:

  • Elevation Gain – 700 feet
  • Round Trip – 3 Miles
  • Suggested Time – 1.5 – 2 hours
  • Difficulty – Moderate
  • Best Season – Late Fall to Late Spring 

View Towards Mt. Lukens.

From the 210 freeway in Sunland, take the Sunland exit and head north east to Mt Gleason Avenue. Turn left and follow Mt Gleason to a T intersection with Big Tujunga Canyon. Turn right and follow Big Tujunga 4.5 miles to Trail Canyon Road on the left. Note that Trail Canyon is a fairly narrow dirt road, a bit bumpy, but passable. Follow the dirt road to the parking area/gate. Keep in mind that that road is closed so you would have to park in a turnout about 1/4 mile below. Please park there at own risk, I did not get a ticket, and you shouldn’t either, but you never know.

If you plan to do this hike and have any additional questions, please feel free to leave a comment here and/or email me at 412cobrapower@gmail.com

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Angeles National Forest, Hiking Trails, Outdoor Activities, Southern Cali Waterfalls, Southern California Hikes, Southern California Peaks, Summit Hikes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. whats the location?do u have an address or something?

  2. There is no address, but if you follow the directions that are listed above, you should be able to spot the entrance..

Leave a Reply

